Lady Bobcats in 19th place after two days of tennis nationals - WHLT 22 Connecting the Pine Belt

Lady Bobcats in 19th place after two days of tennis nationals

Posted: Updated:

The Jones County Junior College Bobcat are in 19th place after two days of the NJCAA Division I National Tennis Tournament here at the Reffkin Tennis Center.

JCJC has eight points. Two Texas schools – Collin College and Tyler Junior College – are tied for first place with 27 points each, while ASA College (N.Y.) is third with 24 points. Meridian Community College is tied for 10th with 17.5 points, while Itawamba Community College is tied for 16th with 16.5 points.

In winner's bracket action on Monday, in No. 1 singles, Alicia Domoney lost to sixth-seeded Shannon Becket of Johnson County Community College (Kan.), 6-0, 6-3. In No. 2 singles, Stephanie Smith fell to third-seeded Diana Perez of ASA College, 6-0, 6-7 (2), 6-0. In No. 5 singles, Elizabeth Wright lost to third-seeded Samantha Powell of Florida State College-Jacksonville, 6-0, 6-0. In No. 6 singles, Brooke Martin lost to third-seeded Fatima Ouattara of College ASA, 6-0, 6-0.

In No. 1 doubles, Domoney and Smith fell to Patricia Husacova and Maja Sasa of Eastern Arizona College, 6-2, 6-1. They then lost in a consolation match to Dominious Bruce and Hannah Watson of Temple College (Texas), 8-6.

In consolation action, Carly Stuart will face Kirby Shannon of Seminole State College (Fla.) at 8 a.m. on Tuesday in No. 3 singles. In No. 4 singles, Aja White plays Sophie Baxter of Moraine Valley Community College (Ill.) at 8 a.m. on Tuesday.

In No. 2 doubles, Wright and White face Baxter and Kayla Amerino of Moraine Valley at 12:30 p.m. Tuesday. In No. 3 doubles, Stuart and Madison Walker meet Alexia Alleyne and Laurica Nelson of Georgia Perimeter College at 12:30 on Tuesday.

For more information on the tournament, go to

Powered by WorldNow

5912 Hwy. 49, Ste. A
Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Telephone: 601.545.2077
Fax: 601.545.3589

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.