Fowler Named Semifinalist for Olson ‘Breakout Player’ Award - WHLT 22 Connecting the Pine Belt

Fowler Named Semifinalist for Olson ‘Breakout Player’ Award

Posted: Updated:

OMAHA, Neb. – Southern Miss catcher Chase Fowler had his name added to a second list in as many days as he earned a spot on the semifinalists' list the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports, Collegiate Baseball Lineup announced on Wednesday.

Through hard work, strength of mind and determination forty-six players have made the list to honor college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year".

Fowler was also named to the Conference USA All-First Team squad in a release from the conference yesterday. It was Fowler's first selection as an all-conference performer at catcher, after posting a .333 batting average with nine doubles, a team-best three triples, a home run and 28 runs batted in. Defensively, Fowler has been the driving force behind the plate in which he has started in 49 games there. He has posted a .985 fielding percentage, allowed just three passed balls and thrown out 55 percent of his potential base stealers (22-of-40).

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star. Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Initial nominations were made by sports information contacts and the semifinalists were determined by made by an independent panel. A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3rd in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play. The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26. 2013

(For more information on the candidates visit or

Aguilar, Gabe

New Mexico

Anderson, Eli

Northern Illinois

Baker, Scott

Ball State

Belicek, Trevor

Texas A&M Corpus Christi

Borden, Buddy


Boulware, Garrett


Burke, Devin

Virginia Tech

Carroll, Chad

James Madison

Connolly, Mike


Dempsey, Trace

Ohio State

Diaz, Christian

Miami FL

Doane, Kerry

East Tennessee State

Durdaller, Christiaan


Falcone, Joey


Fisher, Austin

Kansas State

Ford, Mike


Fowler, Chase

Southern Miss

Graham, Brent


Grogg, Tyler


Hagen, Sean

Eastern Kentucky

Homick, Max

San Diego

Huck, Ryan

Western Kentucky

Jackson, Joe

The Citadel

Keele, Ryan


LaGrange, Ryan

UNC Wilmington

Lecount, Bobby

New Mexico State

Masek, Trey

Texas Tech

McKenzie, Jeff

CSU Bakersfield

Musgrave, Harrison

West Virginia

Papi, Mike


Parr, Justin


Perez, Austin


Peter, Jake


Peterson, Brandon

Wichita State

Prain, Chad

Georgia State

Pruitt, Austin


Renner, Michael

North Florida

Shelinsky Jr., Steven


Shortall, Matt

UT Arlington

Sitz, Scott

Florida Sate

Sparks, Taylor

UC Irvine

Stubbs, Cody

North Carolina

Suchy, Michael

Florida Gulf Coast

Tauchman, Mike


Thompson, Ryan


Verlander, Ben

Old Dominion

Powered by WorldNow

5912 Hwy. 49, Ste. A
Hattiesburg, MS 39401

Telephone: 601.545.2077
Fax: 601.545.3589

Can't find something?
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Media General Communications Holdings, LLC. A Media General Company.